Further forays into vintage

Hello? Readers? Are you still out there?

Once again, the gap between my posts is a yawning one (literally and figuratively!), but I hope the wait will be worthwhile. During my absence, I’ve been to Ireland, given a speech, started the process of getting this humble blog spruced up (go on, you can say it, it looks rubbish. But not for much longer!), and begun to plan a vintage themed charity event for next summer. You will be hearing lots about that last part soon!

As you might remember, my last post was about my visit to the lovely Vintage Secret for a meeting with Miss Naomi Thompson. If you don’t remember, or didn’t read it, have a look here. That grand day really opened my eyes to how accessible the world of vintage clothing is, as before I had ideas of tiny sizes and huge prices. I realised that those things need not be true, if you know where to look. And my word, I have been looking!!

At the end of September, I had to visit Dublin for some charity work, with my mum. We were there for less than thirty-six hours, but we did have some time to ourselves on the Friday afternoon; the hotel was right by Grafton Street, the main shopping area. Honestly, what else were we going to do?! Opposite the end of the road on which our hotel stood (check them out here – it was a great place to stay, with fabulously friendly staff), was a little shopping arcade. Our first stop was like an Aladdin’s Cave for Missy and Mummy Magpie – so much to look at and drool over! Om Diva unfortunately don’t have a website yet, but they do have a Facebook page, so go and say hello! If you are headed to Dublin, make sure you pay them a visit. You will not regret it! Om Diva stock vintage and new pieces, as well as mixes of the two, with “upcycled” vintage clothes hidden on the bountiful racks. The same goes for the sparkling trinkets, twinkling at you from cases around the shop. So, do you want to see what I came home with? Okay, I’ll show you.

My mum discovered this bag, hidden on the stairs, and brought it down for me to gaze at. It feels so wonderfully tactile, so smooth and cool, like metallic water. And, of course, it looks luscious, too! The inside is flawless, which is incredible for a bag from the late 1940s to early 1950s.


When I took it to the counter, I started chatting with Om Diva’s lovely owner. She asked where in England I was from, why I was in Dublin, and recognised the charity I was there for from a news article aired that week. We talked about the bag, how fab it was, and the great condition, and why we loved vintage. Then she said she wanted to give me a gift (I won’t massage my ego by telling you why), and ducked behind the counter, apparently looking for something specific. This is what she emerged with…

(thanks to my mum, the hand model)


Such a little gem! I’d never seen a purse like it, which, along with how pretty it is, made me happy enough. Then my delightful Dubliner told me it was from the same era as my bag! Of course I protested, as it was far too generous a gift to be given by someone I’d met fifteen minutes earlier, but she was insistent. And I was thrilled! After many more “thank yous”, “take cares” and “good lucks”, we made our way to the door. But not before we were offered a “lucky dip” prize, and more hugs!

I also grabbed a very cute cardi, but I’ll stick to my vintage, and vintage inspired, pieces for this post.

There were myriad marvellous vintage shops, even in the little roads around Grafton Street. We can’t wait to go back, and spend a whole day investigating them! Vintage lovers – it’s a goldmine for goodies, so get yourselves to the Emerald Isle for some unique pieces!

Twitter has been vital to education in vintage clothes and accessories. I’ve “met” so many people who own fantastic vintage shops online (and off line!), and they have all been so willing to give advice, and find pieces to meet my wants and needs.

My newest vintage buys were from Love Miss Daisy Vintage (follow them on Twitter here), who kindly held on to them while my computer was being fixed! As soon as I saw this dress, I had to have it. You might know that I love sixties styles, but this was so different to all the shift dresses I have. When I tried it on, minutes after it arrived, it fitted like it had been tailor made for me. Plus, it was a real bargain at £35!

(close up of the sweet little buttons)

I thought I might as well have browse before I went to the checkout, and on my web wanderings, I spied a jacket, which was almost the perfect match to my blue sparkly hot pants (see my post about Tart!). At £18, I just couldn’t resist, so that was popped into my basket, too! I’m so sure about a sparkly suit, but it looks great with smart, dark jeans for a night out with the girls, or a pair of black shorts or a black dress for a night on the town. How could Missy Magpie not buy it?


A few weeks ago, I finally caved in and bought this beautiful nautical dress by Tofu (from Dolly Dagger).

(photo from http://www.dollydagger.co.uk)

It called to love of nautical and vintage style in me, and after months of “umming” and “ahhing”, I realised I was just delaying the inevitable. Happily, it fits like a dream, and I feel great in it. The mark of a finely made dress! But…I needed shoes to go with it! You see, dear readers, I’m most often seen in my Converse, biker boots, ankle boots, or silver curly-wurly style shoes. None of which fit this dress at all. My need for a suitable pair of shoes sent me to another website, over which I have been drooling for years. That website was Beyond Skin. Being a vegetarian and animal rights supporter, who is trying to dress ethically, Beyond Skin shoes tick every box on my wish list. As much as I adore their high heels, they are out of bounds for me and my tootsies. Not that it mattered, as these sweet little sandals were waiting for me. Not cheap, but worth the money to me, as finding cruelty-free shoes that fit me very difficult. Plus, they are so versatile, and can be worn with most of my wardrobe. But. most importantly, they are a perfect match for my dress, I think!

(photo from http://www.beyondskin.co.uk)

Unlike lots of faux-leather shoes, they are soft and flexible, and so are very comfortable to wear. Beyond Skin provided great customer service through Twitter (my medium of choice), and you can follow them here. I loved their cheeky despatch email, and gorgeous shoe box, too!

The whole outfit will be topped off with this gorgeous vintage style nautical cloche hat by Lilly Lewis, made exclusively for Dolly Dagger. It wasn’t really a naughty indulgence, as I always need to wear a hat at the moment, and my usual beanies and berets would not do my fabulous frock justice!

(photo from http://www.dollydagger.co.uk)

So, that’s me for now. Watch out for my upcoming posts about vintage goings-on, including another brilliant vintage shop and seller, and my preparations for a very exciting event coming next summer!

Missy Magpie xx


Leave a comment

Filed under Vintage

Leave a Reply

